Home / Car Broker / Mazda3 Celebrity Challenge

Mazda3 Celebrity Challenge

The Mazda3 Celebrity Challenge returned as a feature of the 2014 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix.

The Rolex Australian Grand Prix  showcased the All-Mew Mazda3 powered by a SKYACTIV-G 2.5 litre petrol engine.

Prior to racing around the world famous Albert Park street circuit, the celebrities underwent intense driver training by Mark Skaife and his team at Skaife Racing to obtain a CAMS (Confederation of Australian Motorsport) License at Sandown Raceway.

The celebrities then took on the challenge of bringing these new driving skills and techniques to the Albert Park circuit where Brett Emerton cruised to pole position during qualifying on Friday. Emerton edged out Australian cycling legend Robbie McEwen in second and TV adventurer Charley Boorman for third.

Race 1 on Saturday was action packed with Rachael Finch escaping from a dramatic crash unscathed and Robbie McEwen cruising to victory over a determined Brett Emerton.

Sunday’s race was also full of excitement, a false start from Robbie McEwen saw Brett Emerton the winner of the final race. Grease star Rob Mills was the surprise second place winner but the battle for the third and final place on the podium between Olympian Torah Bright, The Bachelor Tim Robards and TV Presenter Catriona Rowntree was thrilling with Robards eventually taking the title of third place.

Final Results

Race 1 – Saturday 15 March Race 2 – Sunday 16 March  
1.       Robbie McEwen 1.       Brett Emerton
2.       Brett Emerton 2.       Rob Mills
3.       Rob Mills 3.       Tim Robards
4.       Torah Bright 4.       Catriona Rowntree
5.       Tim Robards 5.       Adam D’Sylva
6.       Tommy Little 6.       Torah Bright
7.       Catriona Rowntree 7.       Maz Compton
8.       Lydia Lassila 8.       Clint Stanaway
9.       Maz Compton 9.       Sam Mac
10.   Adam D’Sylva 10.   Lydia Lassila
11.   Clint Stanaway 11.   Lauren Phillips
12.   Scherri-Lee Biggs 12.   Scherri-Lee Biggs
13.   Lauren Phillips 13.   Rachael Finch
14.   Dave Thronton 14.   Dave Thornton
15.   Charley Boorman 15.   Tommy Little
16.   Nathan Brown 16.   Megan Washington
17.   Megan Washington 17.   Robbie McEwen
DNF: Rachael Finch DNF: Nathan Brown
DNF: Sam Mac DNF: Charley Boorman